dubaimuseum/ July 10, 2015/ Tourism

Vienna on the Danube is the capital of Austria.  This is the city that gives the world the legacy of  Beethoven, Mozart, Schubert, Mahler, Haydn and Strauss.

Hofburg Palace

Hofburg Palace was built in the 13th century and was the Imperial Palace of the rulers of Austria in Innsbruck.  Today it is the President of Austria official residence.   Contained in this palace are chapel houses, a national library, six museums, a greenhouse and a winter riding school.   In the chapel bronze statues of twelve Austrian Nobles are housed.

The Ringstrasse

The Ringstrasse is a circular road built in the late 19th century surrounding the old town of Vienna – the Innere Stadt.   In 1857 Emperor Franz Joseph I ordered the demolition of the city walls and moats and replaced with a wide Boulevard.   There are many stately buildings, parks and monuments along the Ringstrasse.  Famous monuments are the Mozart memorial and the golden statue of Johann Strauss.   Magnificent buildings include the Vienna Opera House, City Hall, the Imperial Palace, the Burgtheater and the Parliament.


Hundertwasserhaus is an apartment house built by architects Joseph Krawina and Peter Pelikan in 1983 and 1986.   It is a very unusual building located at Landstraße district on the corner of Kegelgasse and Löwengasse.This apartment house  has 52 apartments, three communal terraces and private terraces.   The rooms have earth and grass roof, undulating floors and trees growing from inside the rooms.

Schönbrunn Palace

This Baroque style imperial Summer palace has 1441 rooms and was built in the 16th century and is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The property also houses a palace, monuments, Privy Gardens, the Neptune Fountain, sculptures, Roman Ruin, a labyrinth, restaurant and an orangutan enclosure.

The sisi Museum

This museum has six rooms that display personal items such as jewellery, clothes and portraits of  the well-known of Austria-Empress Elisabeth (1837-1898). The Empress was often referred to as ‘ Sisi ‘.

Belvedere Palace

Belvedere Palace was the Summer residence of Prince Eugene of Savoy during the 17th and 18th century. There are two Baroque style palaces the Upper and Lower Belvedere. Today the Museum of Medieval Australian Art is housed in one of the palaces and the Austrian Gallery is found in the other.

The House of Music

The House of Music is located in the palace of the Hapsburg Dynasty’s Arch Duke Charles. It covers an area of over 5, 000 square meters tracing the science of music, the great composers and musicians of the past and present.

The Austrian National Library

This largest library in Austria is located in the Hofburg Palace. It was built under the authorization of Charles VI, Holy Roman Emperor in 1722. The library has a vast collection of 7. 4 million items.


Construction on Karlskirche also known as the St. Charles Church began in 1716 and completed in 1737. Charles VI, Holy Roman Emperor wanted to build a church to the patron saint, Charles Borromeo after the great plague epidemic. It is located on the south side of Karlsplatz. The main attraction is the elongated ellipsoid shaped dome.


Built in 1147 it is also known as St. Stephen’s Cathedral and the most important religious building in Vienna. It is located in the Stephansplatz and also the seat of the Archbishop of Vienna.

Universitat Wien/University of Vienna

This University was founded in 1365 by Duke Rudolph IV and his two brothers. It is the oldest university in German-speaking world and the 3rd oldest in Central Europe.

Share this Post